skip to Main Content
Management Bios

Sandy Boren-Barrett

Artistic Director and CEO

Sandy Boren-BarrettSandy Boren-Barrett has been with Stages Theatre Company (STC) since 1990, allowing her to pursue a dual passion for theatre production and arts education. For 15 years, she led a team of artists and educators in an award-winning education and outreach department at STC until she assumed the role of Artistic Director and CEO in 2005. Managing a team of artists and educators, she oversees the company’s operations, works with the Manager of New Plays on season selections and directs several shows at Stages Theatre Company annually.  Whenever possible, Sandy enjoys teaching workshops for children and youth, working on curriculum development projects, as well as leading staff development workshops, and was teaching artist for the 2016 Perspectives on Peace project.

Boren-Barrett has served on advisory panels with the Minnesota State Arts Board and the Design Team for the Minneapolis Public Schools initiative Arts for Academic Achievement. She is currently serving as vice chair of the Board of Directors for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts (MCA) and is on the Board of the Minnesota Theatre Alliance (MTA). She has written several articles for publication on the topic of arts integration, and collaborated on the STC standards-based, theatre curriculum Make a Scene, In My Own Voice, and Stages Theatre Company Theatre Arts and Literature Curriculum.

An accomplished director, Boren-Barrett has directed more than 60 productions at STC, which include many new works, such as Twelve Dancing Princesses by The Brothers Grimm, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon & Starry River of the Sky, based on the books by Grace Lin, and the ballet collaborations of Owl Moon and The Snow Queen.  Sandy has also directed such family favorites as Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer: The Musical, Annie Jr. and Disney’s The Little Mermaid, Jr.

Susan Swenson

Managing Director

Susan Swenson

Susan Swenson joined Stages Theatre Company in 2014.  In her role as Managing Director, she works in partnership with Sandy Boren-Barrett to manage the marketing, development, and administrative functions of the theatre, as well as providing leadership in strategic planning.

Susan comes to Stages after a 30 year career in Finance at General Mills, where she held numerous leadership roles across the organization.  Outside of work, she has been an active volunteer in the Minneapolis community with organizations such as Big Brothers Big Sisters, Operation Bootstrap Africa, and Partners in Food Solutions.  Susan currently serves on the Board of the Friends of the Hopkins Center for the Arts.  She is a strong supporter of the arts community and is thrilled to combine her business expertise with her love of theatre.




Kris Kuelbs
Accounting & Office Manager


Nicki Pretzer
Director of Audience Services & Human Resources

Matt Ouren
Volunteer Coordinator


  • Emilia Allen
  • Kegan Buckner-Wells
  • Genelle Clark
  • Faith Culbertson
  • Patty Michalec
  • Bevin Murdock
  • Matt Ouren
  • Laurie Paulsen
  • Boo Segersin
  • Erica Skarohlid
  • Cheryl Willis Mayer
  • Roxie Wolfe


  • Michelle Storm


Megan Krueger
Development Director


Nikki Swoboda
Education Director

Jeannine Coulombe
Conservatory Director & Manager of New Play Development

Laura Mahler
Education Associate

André Samples
Education Associate

Megan Collins
Education Associate

Trudy Monette
Education Associate

Matt Ouren
Artistic Associate


Alona Lee
Marketing Director

Brent Teclaw
Digital + Social Media Marketing Associate


Melanie Salmon-Peterson
Production Manager

Gretchen Katt
Technical Manager

Jim Hibbeler
Associate Technical Director

Alan Pagel
Associate Technical Director

Christa Ludwig
Wardrobe Coordinator

Cody R. Braudt
Production Associate

Kenji Shoemaker
Production Associate

Cinde Ashley
Scenic Artist

Lighting Crew: Dave Harty, Jeff Neppl
Scenic Carpenters: Don Illies, Abbee Warmboe

Stages Theatre Company Staff


Karen Dekker, Chair
Dave Klein – Vice Chair
Dave Mahler, Treasurer
Dawn Holicky Pruitt, Secretary

Stephanie Betz
Betsy Butwin
Lisa Collins
Katie Constable
Courtney Daniel
Barry Gersick
Christina Jansa
Mimi Keating
Lisa Kline
Lisa Beth Lentini
Eric Lucas
Karen Lundegaard
Tom Matchinsky
RaeAnn Meyer
Brooke Stein Moss
Linda Moy
Elizabeth Plaetz Lori
Amanda Simpson

Advisory Board

Peggy Abram
Nance Alexander
Laura Bishop
Nancy Carlson
Otis Courtney
Audrey Dammer
Brooks Gekler
Marianne Norris
Dan O’Brien
Kristin Parrish
Laura Sandall
Judy Schumeister
Buffy Sedlachek
Jackie Sinjem

Back To Top